As the snow falls..

December 22, 2011

It’s the 22nd of December, and I’m going home today. I cannot believe that the time has finally come for me to come home. Getting on the plane for the first time at Manchester feels like yesterday. My first 2 weeks however feels like ages ago. Time has played funny tricks on me and now as I finish packing, I’ve realised that time has actually whizzed past. I have been here for 3 months. 3 MONTHS. The longest I’ve been away from home alone. Before, it was only two weeks. That seems so measly now. My last two weeks have absolutely flown by, and a massive part of me is absolutely devastated to be leaving, but the other part is screaming on the inside, ready to go home. I’m scared that I might die of a heart attack on the plane due to excitement. Let’s hope not. I couldn’t sleep last night. I had so many thoughts running through my head and just couldn’t settle. Home, Family, Christmas, New Year. As I said, 2 weeks is nothing, but I’m definitely going to make the most of it whilst I’m home.

It has also dawned on me today that I only have a month left in Innsbruck when I get back, and I am absolutely gutted. Yes, I hate teaching, but everything else is just so worthwhile. The relationship with my family has picked up tenfold, and I have made some good friends through Frisbee. I have one massive regret though since coming here. I wish I tried harder, and moaned less. I had a massive dip in November and all I wanted to do was come home, and I felt that I was left out of things here and at home. My body was in Innsbruck, but my brain was still transfixed on things that were happening in England. When I finally realised that things at home were really not worth at second thought, that’s when I really started to enjoy myself. Obviously, I’ve missed my friends, but I felt that every small interaction with someone from England was really vital, and I would be devastated if people just ignored me. In the past month, I’ve let go of a lot of things holding me down, and now, I feel brilliant. I just wish that this had happened in October or something,  so I could have really made the most of my time here. And I wish I didn’t moan so much, especially on Twitter. I was really miserable but it was my own fault. If i had just gone out and enjoyed myself, I wouldn’t have done all of that. So, Innsbruck, I owe you an apology. I’m sorry that I moaned about you. I take it all back.

 

So, the time has come. Time to be reunited with friends, family, and most of all, Dr Pepper. 😉

England, from today to the 9th of January, you are MINE.

See you all so so soon!

An INCREDIBLY excited,

Sarah xo

Leave a Reply

